Center for Business and Economic Research - Ball State University

Key Economic Sectors in Indiana: Regions 1, 2, 3, & 4

Key Economic Sectors in Indiana: Regions 1, 2, 3, & 4

Published November 4, 2014

Produced for the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, this series examines the most critical industrial sectors for 12 regions in Indiana.­ We analyze the employment situation and raw inputs as well as the potential for growth.

Region 1: Gary, Michigan City, Crown Point (Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, & Starke counties)

Region 2: South Bend, Elkhart (Elkhart, Fulton, Kosciusko, Marshall, & St. Joseph counties)

Region 3: Fort Wayne (Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Grant, Huntington, Lagrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells, & Whitley counties)

Region 4: Lafayette (Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Fountain, Howard, Miami, Montgomery, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Warren, & White counties)



Tags: indiana, economic development, sectors and industry clusters

Authors: Erica Walsh, Phil Morris, Karthik Balaji, Srikant Devaraj, Michael J. Hicks